Unavailable Dates - How to shut the booking widget if you are full or closed

You can close off the calendar on the front-end widget so your customers can't book for a specific date (E.g If you are fully booked or have a private hire).

To do this, head to:

  • Settings

  • Venues > select the Venue

  • Unavailable Dates tab on the left-hand side

  • Scroll down to CLOSE BOOKINGS and select Close All Types of Booking or you can shut bookings for a specific booking type i.e. if your restaurant is full but you can still take bar bookings, you can close off your Food Table/Restaurant bookings

  • Click ADD ANOTHER

  • Select the dates from and until and add times. If you are shutting one date, select the same date in the ‘From’ and ‘To’ fields and leave ALL DAY in the time columns

  • You can also tick to Close Admin to internally notify the team if closing All Types of Booking

  • If you are shutting the whole day, in the Message field, you can enter a message here to display to the customer as a hover-over on the calendar (Eg. Closed for Private Hire). NOTE - this won't work if only certain times are closed

  • Make sure to SAVE the settings  

 

PLEASE NOTE: If you would like to close bookings from 13:00 - 00:00 on for example 20th December you will need to mark the ‘To’ date as the 21st December as Collins registers 00:00 as the start of the day.

USEFUL - If you'd like to create the same close booking rule for a particular set of booking types, for example, if you're only open for lunch service on a particular day and so need to close of six out of your seven booking types, you can use the copy tool.

  • Add the close booking rule to one of your booking types as per the steps above

  • Select 'Copy to other booking types'


  

  • Select which booking types you like to copy the rule over to and select DONE

  • Remember to SAVE when finished  

  
  

USEFUL - If you wish to close bookings for today, you can do this on the Collins Dashboard straight away after you have logged in and gone to Collins:

  • Click the red 'Close Bookings' icon to close online bookings from now until close

  • Or, select the times you want bookings to be closed from and until by clicking on the times in bold (underlined with a dotted line) and using the drop-down to select the times you want

  • Click 'Close Bookings' and this will automatically close online bookings between these times


Once closed, you can easily reopen when you are ready by clicking on the green RE-OPEN button

  

Examples of how closed dates/times look on the widget:

If a whole day was closed off in the settings, the date will be shaded out in the calendar. If the guest clicks on the date, a pop-up will appear advising them the date is closed with a message to show why it's closed (if a message was added):

  

If only specific times/timeslots were closed off, those times will be marked as Unavailable after a customer selects date and booking type:

  


Feedback and Knowledge Base